The Patient Participation Group

Upwell Health Centre has an active Patient Participation Group (PPG) which has been running successfully since 2002.

All registered patients of the Practice are welcome to attend the PPG meetings which are held at the Practice usually on the first Thursday of every other month.

The PPG and the Practice wish to ensure that all sections of the Practice registered population are represented as much as possible within this group. There are representative members from all the local villages and these representatives help to communicate matters discussed in the meetings and any other relevant Practice news to other patients.

The meetings are an opportunity for patients to ask questions, discuss matters relating to the healthcare service, help the Practice develop services by providing their opinions, suggestions and experiences. The meetings are also an opportunity to hear from the Practice who strive to keep the group up to date with all that is happening in the world of General Practice.

The key objective of the group is to facilitate a two-way conversation between the Practice team and all of the registered patients. This is achieved at the bi-monthly meetings by way of discussions, presentations and updates from Practice staff and other external healthcare professionals.

The PPG is not for individual medical matters or complaints but a forum for general discussion, information sharing and service development ideas. If there is an individual matter to consider then this should be discussed directly with the Practice's Quality Manager (Mr James Cowling) who can be contacted on (01945) 773671. This will allow the Practice to obtain the information first hand and respond to it fully, appropriately and to the patient directly.


If you would like to get involved or would just like know more about the Patient Participation Group please don't hesitate contact the Chairman, John Richardson (email or ask to speak to James or Steve at the Practice.


Patient Participation Group Management Committee Members 2018
Chairman: John Richardson
Vice-Chair: Jill Bliss
Minute Secretary: Helen Spriggs
Secretary: Helen Spriggs
Treasurer: Sue Cowling


print this page